Shockwave for Reed Quintet

Instrumentation: Reed Quintet

Duration: 1’45”

Purchase – Murphy Music Press

Program Note:

Shockwave is an electrifying and lightning-fast piece written for the Civitasolis Quintet’s Call for Miniatures in 2020. The work is primarily based around the hexatonic scale, creating a brisk 6-note motive that repeats throughout the majority of the piece. Additionally, multiphonics bounce between the different voices of the ensemble, punctuating the short piece with a distorted static effect.